Disable Office 2003 Activation

First of all this is not a crack or patch for Office 2003 activation. This is a to get rid of the activation process at every reinstall of Office.

Recently I reinstalled Windows and so I have to reinstall Office 2003 also. After installation when I fired up MS Word, a window popped up asking to activate the Office. Now it is very annoying that one has to activate it on every reinstall. This is also extra burden for people like me who are on a limited Internet connection.

So after some self-research and googling I managed to find a way to bypass this. Below is the workaround.

  • Install Office 2003 as usual and activate it over Internet. (This is the last time you have to do this).
  • Create a folder named ‘Disable Office 2k3 activation’ on your desktop. Navigate to the folder ‘C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE11′  or Enter ‘%ProgramFiles%\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\OFFICE11′ in your ‘Start>Run’ box and locate the file ‘mso.dll’. Only this file is modified after activating Office. Some installations have this file only in the folder above and some also have in ‘OFFICE10′ folder. Copy this file and paste in the folder created above.
  • Download the winxp Command Script ‘Disable_O2k3_act.cmd’ and save in the same folder ‘Disable Office 2k3 activation’.

Now burn this folder on your Office 2003 CD and after every reinstall of Office run this Command Script to automatically activate your Office installation.

Related: Anti Product Activation Patch for Office XP/2003

Technorati tags: , ,

del.icio.us tags: , ,

24 comments so far

  1. [...] Recently I was trying to find a way to get rid of Office 2003 activation on every reinstall of Office, meanwhile googling for this I found this patch.  I was surprized to know that even such a patch exists. Hackers have managed to defeat the Office product activation. [...]

  2. wondering on

    Do you have to burn the folder on the Office 2003 CD, or can you burn it on a separate CD and run that CD (and the script) after installing Office 2003 and removing the office 2003 CD?

  3. Shrish on

    @ wondering,
    The file ‘mso.dll’ is nearly 10 MB of size. So you can burn the folder on a CD or can keep it on your harddisk.

  4. koos on

    tres

  5. Dima on

    I recently put windows vista on my computer and tried to reinstall office 2003. Do you have the Disable_O2k3_act.cmd script for windows vista? If so, please email it to me at overallno1@netscape.net or let me know where I can find it. Thank you in advance.

  6. SoulSpeed on

    Well, i’ve tried this solution but it DIDN’T work atm
    the prob is that i don’t know what to do with the MSO.dll from ‘OFFICE10′ cause i’ve MSo.dll inside OFFICE10&11.
    And ofcourse i can’t put both MSO.dll’s inside 1folder.

    Thx

  7. HotLouw on

    Thx… this helped alot

  8. cookieman123 on

    Hi, i have vista on my laptop, and this solution doesn’t work on it. please help me solve my problem.

    thanks

  9. Anonymous on

    man skin care product

    skin care review cosmetic skin care services

  10. Ephepeglopimi on

    Very useful and informative blog. Recommended for all to see.
    http://medsdrugs.blogspot.com/

  11. ламинат on

    1cI’ll thingk about it.6v I compleatly disagree with last post . gpb
    купить ламинат 4l

  12. D4RkH0UR on

    Hey Guys!

    This is a crack, and I would not advise it to a civilized person. But, if you are a pirate like we are, then go ahead!

    You guys should probably do it this way:
    Get the WinISO crack here.
    Make an ISO file of the MSO2003 CD.
    Copy the activated mso.dll into the cd image.
    burn the CD.

  13. ihavewindows7 on

    Hi, i have windows 7, and it doesnt seem to work for me…do you guys have any reason why this would be?

    • Louis Rooy on

      Have you found a solution to it? I am looking for it…

  14. MikieKey5 on

    Sensational looking website, exactly where did you get the template?

  15. wtfareyou saying on

    This is NOT a crack. This is copying the Office MSO file of a valid installation on your computer to REACTIVATE the product again after reinstall without having to go through MS crap every time. Did you even read the post?

  16. Anon on

    Dude you are an absolute savior. It is people like you who let me keep on swashbucklin’.

  17. chatnao.com on

    Hi there to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are
    nice for new visitors.

  18. Drew Billet on

    Howdy i really loved your site. I came across your site while browsing on the web. I came across a way that you can get yourself a Free WordPress Website.

  19. I am genuinely delighted to read this weblog posts which carries tons of helpful facts, thanks for providing
    such information.

  20. chemical stump on

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  21. profit master on

    May I just say what a relief to find someone who really understands
    what they’re talking about on the web. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people really need to check this out and understand this side of the story. I can’t believe
    you are not more popular given that you most certainly possess the gift.

    profit master

  22. Online HOme Careers Reviews on

    What i don’t understood is if truth be told how you are no longer actually a lot more well-appreciated than you may be now. You’re so intelligent.
    You know thus significantly on the subject of this topic, produced me personally consider it from so many numerous angles.
    Its like women and men are not interested except it’s one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs nice. Always care for it up!

  23. Jan-Herman van Wermeskerken on

    Interesting post. Did not help me though. Have the same problem as some of the above users. Upgraded my system to accomodate Windows 7. Tried to re-install Office 2003 (I have to use this for work) but could not install it as Microsoft feels that I have exceeded the maximum number of installations. They no longer offer support by telephone although they have stated that they will no longer support the product as of April 8th 2014. It seems that they have already stopped (today is March 21).

    Buying the product second hand has the same problem. I am really annoyed with Microsoft.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

